Search and verify licenses
Sample Maryland Marriage License

Maryland Marriage License

Maryland law requires that you get a marriage license from the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office in the country where the marriage is to take place.

How to get a marriage license in Maryland?

Here are the steps accordingly. After setting the date and place for your wedding you should visit that County Clerk. While making an appointment make sure you get the signatures from your officiant and Marriage License witnesses. After the ceremony, the officiant is responsible to return the license to the county clerk, either by mail or in person. In case it is not convenient to visit the Clerk’s Office in that county, you may apply for a Non-Resident Marriage License Application-Affidavit, which represents the online version of the application form.

How to apply for a Maryland Marriage License?

If you want to apply for a marriage license in Michigan, one of the parties (or both) must appear in person. You need to fill the application form providing the following information:

  1. Full Name of each party
  2. Address of the house
  3. Date of Birth
  4. State or Country of Birth
  5. Social Security Numbers (mandatory)
    *Social Security numbers are required by law and they are not printed on the marriage application. If the applicant has foreign nationality and does not have a social security number, the applicant must be present and sign an affidavit.
  6. The marital status of each party:
  • Single: Never married.
  • Divorced: The day/month/year of the divorce, the county, and the state in which divorce was granted.
  • Widowed: The day/month/year of the death, the county, and the state in which the death happened.

How much does a marriage license cost in Maryland?

Basically, the fee is about $35 – $85, differing by the county and the time of application. They will give you three copies of the marriage license. You can find the instructions for completion and distribution on the copied documents of the license.

NOTE: If you wish a civil ceremony, only a judge or an appointed Deputy Clerk of the Circuit Court can perform civil ceremonies. The cost for that ceremony is approximately $25.

Maryland Marriage License : Civil Ceremonies

The City Clerk’s office usually performs civil marriage ceremonies on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays from 8:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. at the Clerk’s Office and by appointment only. The fee is to be paid by cash, credit card, or money order immediately after the ceremony. You must have applied for a valid marriage license at least two days till the ceremony.

So, here is the full image of the required fees:

  • Marriage License (Resident/Non-Resident): $55.00 – NO REFUNDS
  • Civil Ceremony (if being done at the court): $25.00 (cash or money order)
  • Duplicate License (replacement license prior to marriage): $10.00
  • Copy of License (non-certified): $0.50

How to obtain a marriage license in Maryland?

Obtaining a marriage license is quite a straightforward process that takes only 15 minutes to complete. Here are some basic points you may want to keep in mind when applying for a marriage license:

  1. You must purchase the marriage license at least 48 days before the marriage ceremony.
  2. The license is valid for six months.
  3. The marriage application/license pee may be paid in cash, money order, or Master/Visa Card. Personal Checks and American Express are not accepted, and there are no refunds.

There is a mandatory 2-day waiting period before your license is issued to you. In most states, the waiting period does not include Saturdays, Sundays, or federal holidays. In some instances, they do not count the day you fill out the application form within the waiting period timeline.

What do you need for a Maryland Marriage License?

Marriage License requirements are:

  1. Valid Identification:
  2. Alien Registration Card
  3. Addresses
  4. Social Security Number

Age Policies

An individual who is 17 or 18 years old may not marry until:

  • He/she has the consent of a parent or guardian.
  • One of the parties gives the clerk a certificate from a licensed physician which is stating that the physician has examined the woman, who is marrying, and has found that she is pregnant or has already given birth to a child.

An individual who is 15 years old may not marry until:

  • He/she has the consent of a parent or guardian and
  • Either party gives the clerk a certificate from a licensed physician which is stating that the physician has examined the woman, who is marrying, and has found that she is pregnant or has already given birth to a child.

Can you get a marriage license online?

You can get a marriage license ONLINE.

The Division of Vital Records (DVR) and the Maryland Department of Health (MDH) matter certified copies of licenses for marriages that occurred on or after January 1, 2007. In case there is no record found, the license fee is not repaid.

As well as for marriages that took place before January 1, 2007, you may need to contact the Court of the Maryland county where the marriage took place. So if you wish to apply online for Maryland Marriage License, the Clerk’s office is available online. Apply here Marriage License Application.

Can you get a marriage license in Maryland during COVID?

In the middle of the COVID pandemic, assistants of the circuit courts give marriage licenses in urgent cases just, for example, cases including military organization, extreme medical problems, or some clinical issues.

Therefore, marriage license applicants can send applications to their county’s clerk via mail, town drop box, or email in the county where the marriage is to take place.

The data on the application must be sworn under oath before the clerk through the help of video conferencing. An executive order empowering remote applications will remain in effect until the governor ends up the state’s COVID-19 situation of emergency.

Instructions on Modified Marriage Application Process during COVID

  1. Decide which Maryland country the marriage ceremony will take place. You must gain the license from the Clerk of Circuit Court for that country.
  2. Call or visit the office of the Clerk of Circuit Court for the county where the ceremony is to take place to determine the Marriage License fee since it differs from county to county.
  3. Complete the application form:
  • If you are going to submit your application with an email, make sure you are using Social Security numbers, since email is not secure.
  • Provide a daytime contact number. NOTE: You sign under the penalty of perjury and affirming that provided information is accurate and true.
  • Current relationship status. This part includes information about every previous marriage including the date. You should mention the state or the foreign county where the marriage ended in this section whether it has ended in divorce or death.

For more information, you may contact:

Circuit Court of Clerk’s Office
14735 Main Street Upper Marlboro, MD 20772
Phone: 301-952-3318
Fax: 301-952-3768

Working Hours

Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Mari A

Mari is a creative and self-motivated person. She is new in content writing, which she thinks improves knowledge and creativity skills. Mari is keen on learning different languages and for her every day is a new chance to learn more. She is responsible to handle multiple tasks on a daily basis.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State